Grand Chapter of Queensland – Installation

Sunday, August 21 2022

The Grand Chapter held our Annual Meeting on Friday 1 April at the Arana Leagues Club followed by the Installation on Saturday afternoon. We welcomed Eastern Star visitors from other states on Friday evening. The visiting delegations included: the Most Worthy Grand Matron Sister Blanche Watt (SA), Most Worthy Grand Patron Brother Paul Smith (NSW), Worthy Grand Associate Matron Sister Robyn Reily (NSW), Worthy Grand Associate Patron Brother Jonathan Nantes (QLD), Worthy Grand Secretary Sister Elizabeth Taylor (TAS), Worthy Grand Treasurer Sister Margaret Down (NSW), Worthy Grand Adah Sister Beryl Ross (QLD), Worthy Grand Electa Sister Gail Reed (SA), Past Most Worthy Grand Matrons Sisters Evelyn Hood (VIC), Elizabeth Watt (SA) and Lois Allen (NSW), Past Most Worthy Grand Patron Brother Sydney Down (NSW) and Assistant to the Worthy Grand Treasurer Sister Jennifer Fawns (NSW); from the Grand Chapter of NSW and ACT, the Worthy Grand Matron Sister Marliyn Auld, Brother Ken Auld PWGP representing the Worthy Grand Patron and Sister Kathy Mitchell Grand Marshal; from the Grand Chapter of Victoria the Worthy Grand Matron Sister Maureen King, Worthy Grand Patron Brother David Carlin, Grand Secretary Sister Iris Carlin and Grand Marshal Sister Kerryn Dixon-Ward; from the Illawarra District Grand Committee Worthy District Grand Matron Sister Lorna Dunkley and Worthy District Grand Patron Brother Ian Dunkley.

The business of the Annual Meeting was well managed by our Worthy Grand Matron Sister Leigh Kennedy and Worthy Grand Patron Brother Norman Butler and culminated in the election and appointment of the Grand Office-bearers for 2022-2023.

The afternoon session on Saturday opened with entry and introductions of our invited guests which included family and friends of our Worthy Grand Matron Elect and Worthy Grand Patron Elect, distinguished Office-bearers of several Orders within the Masonic Family as well as board members and recipients of the 2022 grants of the Eastern Star Foundation.

We were pleased and honoured to welcome the following: from the United Grand Lodge of Queensland, VW Jeffrey Harper, Most Worshipful Grand Master Elect accompanied by Mrs Dorothy Harper and Wayne Warry. From the SGRACQ, RE Ian Hodgson, Deputy First Grand Principal accompanied by Mervyn Gray, John Ellsworth, William Tupou, Greg Broad, Vaughan McInnes, John Edwards and Timothy Powys. From the GLMMMQ, RW Paul Southon Deputy Grand Master accompanied by Ms Narelle Zielke and Reg Langusch. From AASRA the Most Illustrious Regional Commander M.Ill. Bro Greg Goding accompanied by John Ross and Brian Stanley King. From GICQ the Most Illustrious Grand Sovereign David Lauder accompanied by Mrs Roslyn Lauder, Edward O’Neil and Cyril Leitch. From the District Grand Priory of Queensland and PNG the Most Eminent & Reverend Grand Master of the Temple, the Right Eminent Fra. Duncan McGregor accompanied by Murray Diaz, Stephen Olsson and Jock Lowson. From the Royal Order of Scotland the Provincial Grand Master Alan Godsmark. From the Grand Council of Knight Masons, the R.E. Sir Knight Alan Coleman accompanied by Leanne MacDonald. From the Grand Court of Amaranth, the Grand Royal Matron HL Jennifer Nielsen and from the Grand White Shrine of Jerusalem Past Grand Worthy High Priestess Joan Roberts and Grand Watchman of Shepherds Ross Barlow.

Following the presentation of the Eastern Star Grants, the Shield was presented to the two Chapters who initiated more Members that any other Chapter in Queensland during 2021: Bundaberg Chapter No 131 and Electa Chapter No 160 each initiated three Members. The Installation of Sister Elaine Gray Worthy Grand Matron and Brother Spencer Swann Worthy Grand Patron and Grand Office-bearers for 2022-2023 was the main event of the afternoon followed by remarks from selected dignitaries, a closing ceremony photographs and a banquet.

Back Row: Sis Edwina Tatnell G A/Con, Bro Richard Kennedy GAP, Sis Barbara Hartman G Sec, Sis Rhonda Nelson G Adah, Sis Roslyn Lumsden G Esther, Sis Clare Parry G Tre, Sis Patricia Hess G Electa, Sis Gillian Powys G Warder, Sis Gillian Mason G Org, Sis Pamela Lewis G Con, Bro Alex Pringle G Jun Chap, Bro Richie Probyn G Sent, Sis Jenny Probyn G Martha Front Row: Bro Norman Butler IPWGP, Bro Spencer Swann WGP, Sis Elaine Gray WGM, Sis Leigh Kennedy IPWGM, Sis Wileena Seymour G Marshal

Back Row Sis Leigh Kennedy IPWGM 2021, Sis Beryl Ross PWGM 2010, Bro Richard Kennedy PWGP 2011, Sis Margaret Kennedy PWGM 2014, Sis Joan Currie PWGM 2018, Bro Jonathan Nantes PWGP 2006 & 2018, Sis Barbara Hartman PWGM 2005, Sis Felecity Manderson PWGM 2016 Front Row Bro Norman Butler IPWGP 2021, Sis Carita Swann PWGM 2003, Bro Spencer Swann WGP, Sis Elaine Gray WGM, Sis Winnie Mitchell PWGM 2017