It took a few years for the OES to reach Tasmania.  It wasn’t until 11th June 1960 that Tasman Chapter No 593 was instituted, soon followed by Hobart Chapter No 605 in 1961 and Tamar Chapter No 637 in 1967.

On 8th June 1985, the Deputy Grand Matron’s Committee of Tasmania was instituted with the responsibility to the Chapters in Tasmania.

Due to structural changes adopted at the 15th Biennial Sessions 2015, The DGM Committee was replaced with the Tasmania District Grand Committee. This committee is chaired by the Worthy District Grand Matron (WDGM) assisted by the Worthy District Grand Patron (WDGP), a District Grand Secretary, District Grand Treasurer and elected representatives from each Chapter in its jurisdiction.

The term of office for the committee is 2 years and the WDGM/WDGP are invested by The UGCA at the Biennial Sessions. The District Grand Committee meets 4 times a year in Ross, Tasmania.

The Tasmania District Grand Committee can be contacted through the DG Secretary.

Following is a listing of the Chapters in Tasmania:

Report to Chapter Name & Number Meets
Tasmania District Grand CommitteeHobart # 1621st Monday 7:30 pm, 1st Saturday October 2:00 pm.
Tasmania District Grand CommitteeTasman # 1563rd Monday 2:30 pm, 3rd Saturday September 2:30 pm, Recess in January
Tasmania District Grand CommitteeTamar # 1784th Monday 7:30 pm, 1st Saturday September 1:30 pm. Recess January