The Laurels




Foundation Stone set 8th March 1970. Units opened 5th December 1970. Amenities Centre Building completed 23rd February, 1982 – Opened 4th April, 1982.


The members of NSW & ACT proudly support “The Laurels” – The OES Homes for the Aged situated at Clemtom Park in the suburbs of Sydney.


The matter of a Home was brought forward first in 1956. In 1962 a “Home Committee” of seven was elected to examine the potential of land, building, or sites for a home, or for demolition to build a home, in the metropolitan area close to Sydney. That Committee had the power to secure suitable property by option or deposit and to co-opt one or more persons, not necessarily members of the Order of the Eastern Star, that were qualified to give advice.

Properties were examined for a potential site at Dulwich Hill, Petersham, Wardell Road, Marrickville, (council advised the drainage of second building was not suitable), 2 King Street, Ashfield, Eastlakes, (Botany Council advised Water Board had not laid necessary pipes for sufficient sewerage).  Eventually, the site at 188-190 William Street, Clemtom Park was bought for £11,500 ($23,000) in 1965.

Laurels6On the 13th October 1969 a recommendation was made that a tender of £89,809.80 ($179,619.00) be accepted, with a contract signed and final payment made on completion.  The final cost was £96.215.00 ($192,430.00).

In 1974 the Home Committee became known as the Home Management Committee.  In March 1980, a decision was made to participate in the Hostel Units at Eastern Park. A letter from Mr Noel Roberts (Public Accountant and advisor to the committee) agreed to provide funds to the amount of $50,000 for the erection of an amenities block at “The Laurels”.  The provision was, that the Home Management Committee agreed that “the money was not to be used for another purpose”. The Amenities Centre was completed on 23rd February 1982 and subsequently opened on 4th April 1982.


The Home is managed by a board of Trustees:

President – Mrs Jeanette Farrant
Vice President – Mr Graham Smith
Trustees – Mrs June Green and Mrs Margaret Down
Secretary  – Mrs Christine McDonnell
Finance Officer – Mrs Margaret Smith

Secretary of the OES Home Fund is Mrs Lorna Dunkley